Home Admissions Catalog Financial Aid Schedules Distance Learning

HCC honors Student Academic Excellence at second annual event


WELDON, N.C. - Halifax Community College celebrated student academic success during the second annual Academic Excellence Awards Ceremony, Apr. 15. During the event, those who were included on the President’s and Dean’s lists for fall 2008, Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges, Spire and NC Community College Academic Excellence Award recipients were recognized.


HCC alumnus Arcelious Valentine was the guest speaker. After being laid off from a job, Valentine had a choice of either getting six months unemployment benefits or going back to school. He decided to go back to school and enrolled at HCC as the first African American male to apply to the paralegal program. Valentine is now working on a Criminal Justice degree from Elizabeth City State University and plans to continue in the field of law. He urged students, “Be diligent and prepared.”


Honor students were then recognized. To qualify for the President’s List, a student must be enrolled full-time and earn A’s in all subjects for a semester (4.0). To qualify for the Dean’s List, a student must be enrolled full-time and earn at least a 3.25 semester grade point average. Students enrolled in any developmental courses are not eligible for President’s or Dean’s List. A student with an “Incomplete” grade is not eligible for the Dean’s List or President’s List in the semester the “Incomplete” is received.


President’s List

Aulander: Johnnie Lassiter

Colerain: Jessica Hoggard

Conway: Justin Burgess

Edenton: Vanessa Medlin

Enfield: Caroline Daughety, Carol Whitaker

Garysburg: Lucille Bennett, Keino Bridges, Kiki Brown, Antonio Squire, Demeatrice Ward, Jessica Workman

Gaston: Beatrice White

Halifax: Casey Baird, Brittany Robertson, John Somogyi

Henderson: Amber Duke

Hertford: Kimberly Harris

Hickory: Norma Stilwell

Jackson: Melissa Blythe

Lawrenceville, Va.: Chase Oakley

Littleton: Tanya Cash, Brian Dorn, Valerie Dorn

Pleasant Hill: Teresa Clements

Rich Square: Victoria Barnes

Roanoke Rapids: Timothy Archer, Crystal Bell, Joni Butts, Janie Carlisle, Dianne Egerton, Heather Ferrell, Rachel Gibbs, Bobby Harding, Ashley Jamison, Kelly Kinnin, Linwood Mason, Marie Mason, Robert McLaughlin, Nancy Northington, Janina Pinnicchia, Suzanne Robinson, Jessica Temple, Christopher Tkacik

Rocky Mount: Laura Cottle

Scotland Neck: Rodney Johnson

Warrenton: Ryan Miles

Weldon: Antoinette Cheatham, Jermaine Lynch


Dean’s List

Carrollton, Va.: Cailey Auvil

Castalia: Ashley Wood

Conway: Lisa Hunter

Creswell: Loretta Spear

Elm City: Brandy Turner

Emporia: Shaunte Ferguson

Enfield: Bessie Joyner, Claudette Whitaker, Nelichall Whitaker

Garysburg: Mary Anderson-Faison, Latoya Boyd, Travis Harding, Cynthia High, Chaquila Robinson, Maria Webb

Gaston: Kristina Anderton, Stacy Scott

Greenville: Kaylen Edwards

Halifax: Michael Cousins, Katie Penley, Tracy Rogers

Henderson: Diana Fairey

Henrico: Rolando Clayton, Carlin Huff

Hollister: Conisha Rudd

Lasker: Michael Sumner

Littleton: Jonmichael Atkinson, Christopher Beasley, Melody Eldred, Donald Mullen, Levi Penfield, Lagolia Price, Theresa Raymond, Christi Williford

Murfreesboro: Qiana Mann

Nashville: Tracey Bell, John Agar, Shannon Frye

Roanoke Rapids: Dana Allen, Michael Barnes, Brooke Bolt, Erica Bradley, Sarah Bunch, Shawn Burke, Nancy Cummings, Casey Dixon, Kathryn Esquivel, Susan Etheridge, Brent Floyd, Spinosa Gee, Caroline Harris, Tonya Hockaday, Amie Hutchings, Amanda Jarratt, Brandi Jeffries, Laura Jenkins, Sarah Keesee, Meghan Kerr, Lauren Lambert, Christopher Lonesky, Melody Mallory, Shawanna McDowell, Brenda Phillips, Rodney Pierce, Laura Pittman, William Pittman, Courtney Powell, Lesley Rook, Cory Rooker, Antwan Simmons, Rebecca Simmons, Lauren Snyder, Jamie Strickland, Megan Sweat, Ashley Tucker, Darlene Turner, Samantha Vester, Sarah Wheeler, Marreial Williams, Marcus Wood, Christopher Wright, David Zazzaretti

Scotland Neck: Gwendolyn Smith, Leah Staton

Tarboro: Christina Casper

Wake Forest: Allison Maton

Weldon: Kiara Coulman, Brenda Dunston, Cheryl Hollowell, Jonah Lefler, Karl Wiltsie

Winterville: Ashley Winslow

Woodland: Amy Cooper


Who’s Who

Who's Who exists as one of the most highly regarded and long-standing honors programs in the nation. For the students – the outstanding campus leaders of the year – national recognition by the Who's Who program marks a pinnacle of scholastic achievement.

Elm City: Brandy Turner

Enfield: Carol Whitaker, Claudette Whitaker

Garysburg: Lucille K. Bennett, KiKi Brown, Maria E. Webb

Littleton: Lagolia Price

Murfreesboro: Qiana Mann

Roanoke Rapids: Michael Kent Barnes, Crystal Gayle Bell, Spinosa Gee Clements, Nancy Cummings, Kelly Kinnin, Brenda Hall Phillips, Suzanne M. Robinson, Ashley Tucker



Spire was founded for the purpose of recognizing the unique achievements of adult and other non-traditional students enrolled in associate degree programs. To be selected as a member of Spire, a student must qualify as an adult or non-traditional student, be within 12 months of graduation, have a minimum cumulative 3.0 grade point average, be involved in a least three campus or community activities, demonstrate leadership, persistence and future promise, and maintain the highest ethical standards.

Garysburg: Mary Anderson-Faison, Demeatrice Ward

Murfreesboro: Qiana Mann

NCCCS Academic Excellence

The NC Community College Academic Excellence Award recommended criteria for selections include current students and those who have completed at least 12 semester hours in an Associate of Arts, Associate of Science, Associate of Applied Science, or Associate of General Studies degree. Students must also have a cumulative grade point average of not less than 3.25.

Hertford: Kim Harris

Littleton: Lagolia Price

Carol Whitaker receives a certificate of recognition

Student Carol Whitaker receives a certificate of recognition from HCC President, Dr. Ervin V. Griffin, Sr. during the second annual Academic Excellence Awards Ceremony, Apr. 15.