Home Admissions Catalog Financial Aid Schedules Distance Learning


Basic Law Enforcement Training cadets recently graduated from HCC's 32nd Academy. Seventeen cadets completed training. Pictured are (bottom row from left): HCC Vice President of Instructional Services Dr. Joy Cooley, HCC President Dr. Ervin V. Griffin, Sr., Deputy Robert Mines, Deputy Joseph Sealey, Deputy Chris Stanfield, Cadet Christopher Babb, Cadet Tamara Allen, Cadet Johnny Jenkins, Deputy Jimmy Pair, Jr., Cadet Neville Rodney, Jr., BLET Director Wes Terry (top row) Assistant BLET Director Dr. Ed Porter, BLET Instructor/Chief John Young, Officer William Barmer, Cadet Mark Coburn, Deputy Thomas Staton, Cadet Joshua Wiggins, Cadet Joseph Natali, Cadet Joshua Langley, Cadet Obert Wiltsie, Jr., Deputy Bryan Johnson, Deputy William Stephens, and BLET Instructor/Chief Doug Pilgreen.

Seventeen Halifax Community College (HCC) Basic Law Enforcement Training (BLET) cadets graduated in a ceremony on campus, May 4. This marked HCC's 32nd BLET Academy graduation. According to BLET Director Wes Terry, this was the largest class that HCC has graduated in the program.

The class was comprised of Cadet Tamara Allen (Hertford County Sheriff's Office), Cadet Christopher Babb (Roanoke Rapids Police Department), Officer William Barmer (Murfreesboro Police Department), Cadet Mark Coburn (Hertford County Sheriff's Department), Cadet Johnny Jenkins (Halifax County Sheriff's Office), Deputy Bryan Johnson (Gates County Sheriff's Office), Cadet Joshua Langley (Roanoke Rapids Police Department), Deputy Robert Mines (Northampton County Sheriff's Office), Cadet Joseph Natali (Scotland Neck Police Department), Deputy Jimmy Pair, Jr. (Northampton County Sheriff's Office), Cadet Neville Rodney, Jr. (Scotland Neck Police Department), Deputy Joseph Sealey (Halifax County Sheriff's Office), Deputy Chris Stanfield (Halifax County Sheriff's Department), Deputy Thomas Staton (Northampton County Sheriff's Office), Deputy William Stephens (Hertford County Sheriff's Office), Cadet Joshua Wiggins (Gates County Sheriff's Office), and Cadet Obert Wiltsie, Jr. (Weldon Police Department).

Special awards and recognition were also presented. Special recognition for class president went to Deputy Chris Stanfield, who also garnered the Top Gun award. The Outstanding Cadet award went to Deputy Jimmy Pair, Jr., who also received the Vehicle Operation award. The Academic Excellence award went to Officer William Barmer. Cadet Joseph Natali received recognition for perseverance in spite of adversity.

HCC President, Dr. Ervin V. Griffin, Sr. gave the keynote address. “Our BLET program, from all that I have found, is one of the best in the state and widely respected for their skills in developing law enforcement personnel for our region,” said Griffin. “To the members of the 32nd Academy Class, I support you and salute you for the service that you will provide to our region, state, and nation.” He also described three key traits of successful people—desire, character and cohesiveness.

Northampton County Sheriff's Office provided the Honor Guard. Law enforcement administrators present included Chief Jimmy Barmer (Aulander Police Department), Chief John Young (Jackson Police Department), Sheriff Ed Webb (Gates County Sheriff's Office), Chief A.B. Roye (Rich Square Police Department), Sheriff Wardie Vincent (Northampton County Sheriff's Office), Sheriff Juan Vaughan (Hertford County Sheriff's Office), Chief Doug Pilgreen (Scotland Neck Police Department), and Chief Darrell Rowe (Murfreesboro Police Department).